Faith in Action

Religious Leaders Interfaith Statement

Most major religious groups—Roman Catholics, Presbyterians, Lutherans, Methodists, Quakers, Unitarian-Universalists, Jews, and others—condemn the use of the death penalty as a violation of human rights and a perpetuation of violence in our society. Many Protestant, Buddhist, and other faith-group leaders support alternatives to the death penalty and encourage their congregations to pray and study about this issue. In 2005 during Holy Week, the National Conference of Catholic Bishops called for abolition of the death penalty and initiated a national campaign to educate Catholics on the issue.

If you are a religious leader in Delaware—rabbi, priest, imam, deacon, pastor, or sister—sign the letter today! Your religious affiliation will be listed for identification purposes only. It does not imply an official position by your religious organization. The form contains directions on where to send it.

Download, sign, and return the Interfaith Statement (PDF)

Religious Leaders Who Have Signed the Interfaith Statement

The affiliation is listed for identification purposes only and does not imply the official position of the organization.

Pastor Bruce Gillette, Limestone Presbyterian Church, Wilmington
Pastor Carolyn Gillette, Limestone Presbyterian Church, Wilmington
Rev. Dr. Vicki L. Gordy-Stith, United Methodist Church/Skyline, United Methodist Church/Wilmington
Tom Davis, Honorably Retired Presbyterian pastor
John Gilmore, Honorably Retired Presbyterian pastor
Sally Milbury-Steen, Co-Clerk of Newark Monthly Meeting of the Religious Society of Friends
Msgr. Charles L. Brown III, Pastor, St. John the Beloved Catholic Church, Wilmington
The Rev. Dr. William L. Rhines, Jr., Minister, Ezion-Mt. Carmel United Methodist Church, Wilmington
Rev. Anne Ledbetter, Westminster Presbyterian Church, Wilmington
Pastor Fritz Ackerman, Concord Presbyterian Church, Wilmington
Rev. David Albert Farmer, Ph.D., Pastor, SilversideChurch, Wilmington
Most Reverend W. Francis Malooly, Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Wilmington
Rev. Tom A. Pasmore, Pastor, Avenue United Methodist Church, Milford
Rev. Ann S. Wilson, Retired Deacon, Avenue United Methodist Church, Milford
Judith Morton, Aldersgate United Methodist Church, Wilmington
Ronald Bergman, Retired United Methodist Clergy
Peggy A. Johnson, Bishop, Peninsula-Delaware Conference of the United Methodist Church
Rev. Mary H. Browne, Pastor, St. Johns United Methodist Church, Charlestown, Md.
David E. Mueller, Pastor, St. Stephen’s Lutheran Church, Wilmington
Rev. William F. Graney, Pastor, Roman Catholic, Wilmington
Rev. Ralph Castelow, Associate Pastor, St. John The Beloved Catholic Parish, Wilmington
Rev. Gregory M. Corrigan, Priest, Resurrection Parish, Wilmington
Rev. James M. Jackson, Assoc. Pastor, St. Elizabeth Ann Seton Parish, Bear
Rev. Katherine A. Simons, Pastor, Presbyterian Church USA, Newark
Rev. Edward J. Fahey, Jr., Catholic Priest, Wilmington
Msgr. Daniel J. McGlynn, Pastor, Holy Cross Catholic Church, Dover
Yair Robinson, Rabbi, Reform Congregation Beth Emeth, Wilmington
Austin M. Snow, Deacon, Immaculate Heart of Mary Catholic Church, Wilmington
Jeannie Bennett Fleming, Director of Religious Education, St. Ann’s Catholic Parish, Bethany Beach

New Castle Presbytery Resolution Opposing the Death Penalty

New Castle Presbytery of the Presbyterian Church (USA) approved a resolution at the 817th Stated Meeting of Presbytery on September 18, 2012, in Coolspring Presbyterian Church, 24483 Log Cabin Hill Road, Lewes, Delaware. The resolution concludes:

Therefore, New Castle Presbytery supports abolishing of the death penalty in Delaware and Maryland, encourages its congregations to study the death penalty and the church’s opposition for it, and will support ecumenical and civic groups such as Maryland Citizens Against State Executions, Delaware Citizens Opposed to the Death Penalty, and Delaware Repeal.